REVIEW: Lush Spa, Hard Day’s Night Treatment

Once in a while an experience – because that’s what the Hard Day’s Night treatment is, an experience – comes along that stops you in your tracks, knocks you down, and throws everything you every thought you knew about spa treatments out the window.

I was lucky enough to be invited to Liverpool’s Lush Spa to try their Hard Day’s Night treatment in the city where it was launched last year. Inspired by the music of The Beatles, the treatment is designed to relax your mind and body through a combination of firm massage and gentle passive stretches and, from what I had read, I was in for a treat.

IMG_3672

The lovely Lush store, Liverpool

On my arrival at the store and after a quick shufty around a few of my fave Lush products I was met by my therapist and taken upstairs through a secret door to the spa which was unlike any other spa I had visited before. Instead of all clean lines, uplighting and minimalist decoration, I found myself in a country cottage kitchen area complete with solid wood workbench/table and comfy seats.

After a short consultation and a walk through about what was in store for me in the next 75 minutes  I was taken through to the treatment room where I was given my very own set of PJs.

Pyjamas

PJ Time!

That’s right – pyjamas! No nudity here thank you very much, this was all about getting cosy, comfy and content and the lovely striped slumber wear had also been wrapped around a hot water bottle to make them all toasty – bonus!  PJs on, I snuggled down underneath the covers on the heated bed and rang my little bell so the therapist knew we were good to go. Loved this touch as too often when I’ve been to a spa I’ve been left lying there for a touch longer than I would have preferred.

During the sensory journey of music and stress-releasing massage, designed to leave you feeling relaxed, uplifted and ready for a new day, a series of passive stretches are performed to work out any knots and niggles. During the dry massage your limbs are gently stretched, bounced and manipulated in time to a dreamy soundtrack of cleverly reworked Beatles songs. Whatever worries you walked in with, this treatment will help you find your inner peace and just… let it be. (Badumtish!)

It was the little touches that really made this treatment for me. From the start when the music takes you to the docks, listening to the gentle swish of the sea and the seagulls overhead, to the hand massage as ‘I Want To Hold Your Hand’ (what else) began.

Another alternative moment that I had never experience in the past, was the use of ribbons tied to your ankles to make you feel like you were floating through weightlessness – a section inspired by the Cirque du Soleil ‘Love’ show which also uses Beatles music.

After the treatment I was left alone in the room for a short time to meditate and reflect on the experience. As the sound of a gently ticking clock played, you knew it was time to wake up refreshed at the sound of an alarm clock. No one likes that sound usually but I was more than happy to yawn, stretch and get out of ‘bed’ feeling more refreshed than I do when I have to get up to go to work!

Back in my normal attire I made my way back through to the kitchen where tea and Jammy Dodger biscuits sat waiting for me.

Tea and Biscuits

More tea vicar?

There are many other surprises throughout the treatment but I didn’t want to give you a step by step, paint by numbers because each individual will take certain aspects away with them for different reasons.

Given the Hard Day’s Night Treatment is priced at £85 it is a little pricier than usual treatments but that’s the thing, this treatment isn’t ‘usual’ – it is anything but, so the price tag is certainly worth it for a special treat.

And for everyone who has the treatment  is  a Golden Slumbers bath bomb to keep the feelings of peace, calm and relaxation lasting even longer.

I’m just planning when I can try something else because if that is just one of the treatments I can’t wait to experience the rest!

To find out more, or to book an appointment, telephone Lush Spa Liverpool on 0151 236 6952 or visit the Lush website here to book and to see a video on how the treatment was designed.  You can also purchase or take a listen to the music used in the treatment here

One thought on “REVIEW: Lush Spa, Hard Day’s Night Treatment

  1. Pingback: 7 and 8 August 2014: Red | Miss Lady Librarian

Leave a comment