Rocky Horror 40th Birthday After Show Party

As the curtain fell on the 40th Anniversary performance of the Rocky Horror Show at Manchester’s Palace Theatre, the chosen ones with the golden tickets of the evening were hot footing over to Brown’s on York Street.

Rocky Horror at the Manchester Palace

Rocky Horror at the Manchester Palace

Incidentally, the bar brasserie in the converted Athenaeum, formerly one of Manchester’s most famous pubs, was celebrating their 40th too!

Originally Parrs Bank, one of the city’s former opulent banking halls, the building was designed by Charles Heathcote in 1902 and the Edwardian baroque and art nouveau detailing was the perfect setting for an electrifying shindig.

My party partner in crime

My party partner in crime

As I mentioned in the previous post, Wednesdays aren’t particularly memorable but this was a different story. Having driven from home some 25 miles away with my party partner in crime (and cousin), I was somewhat put out that the vast cocktail menu was a free for all – Dammit Janet!

The AMAZEBALLS cake

The AMAZEBALLS cake

But…my luck was in. A quick text to the Mothership telling her how free the cocktails were and she and my Pops were to the rescue. Yes, I’m 27, but when the Parental taxi offers a lift you do.not.decline. Win!

The rest of the evening was spent schmoozing with the cast and VIPs (including Reg Holdsworth – remember him Corrie fans), trying out every cocktail on the menu and trying to eat canapes in a ladylike fashion (note: not easy).

Now, inside of this little shell of a reporter lies a tortured thesp. I spent ten years at a drama school and had lofty ambitions of one day being a West End star. However, the lack of a singing voice soon put paid to that. Ha. So being at the shindig didn’t half indulge my inner Showstopper.

Reg!

Reg!

I cosied up to the B.E.A.UTIFUL Kara Lane (she played Janet for two years and toured Australia with the company) and the GORGEOUS Henry Davis, who, incidentally, looks just as delicious clothed as he does larking about as Rocky in gold hotpants – ladies, you need to see him!

The gorgeous Kara Lane and I

The gorgeous Kara Lane and I

But alas, all good things must come to an end an my pumpkin soon arrived. Nattering away in the back seat of the car I came to the conclusion that only amateurs go out on a Saturday night – Wednesday’s are back!

 

Leave a Reply

