INTERVIEW: Avicii : Q&A

Say the name Tim Bergling, and, more than likely, you will be met with ‘Who?’

But say ‘Avicii’ and you’d be hard pushed to find someone who hadn’t heard of the 23-year-old DJ.

avicii-joe-gazzola

Ranked  No. 3 on the Top 100 DJs list by DJ Magazine, there’s no stopping the Swedish superstar and, before he makes the annual pilgrimage to Creamfields this August, we had a quick chat. 

What and who first got you excited about music?

I grew up listening to a lot of Ray Charles and 60s rock thanks to my father, and then my brothers got me into Kiss and whatnot, so I guess that’s where I got my first taste and excitement for music.

When was it you realised you could start making it yourself and at that time did you ever think it would go this far?

A friend of mine showed me FL Studio. I’ve been hooked from the minute I first got it. I would spend almost 12 hours a day producing. I worked really hard to get where am today but I truly had no idea I would make it this far. If I hadn’t met Ash, my manager, I probably wouldn’t be.

Was it a surprise being ranked number 3 in DJ Mags Top 100 DJs list last year?

It was a great honor to be ranked #3, especially amongst such great DJs. However, I never really check my rank. It’s always flattering if you get a good ranking but I don’t know how much it actually helps.

Who is the best DJ in the world right now in your opinion?

There is so much talent out there right now, it’s really incredible. I just can’t narrow it down to one DJ or producer.

Dance music is constantly evolving; we’ve had dub step, grime, moombathon, what’s the next big thing?

Only time will tell how dance music will evolve, it will be interesting to see where it goes.

avicii-2

What do you think sets you apart from other DJs?

I’ve been working a lot on getting a signature sound, the big-room melodic sound which I think sets me apart from other producers and what they’re doing.

You’ve produced tracks with some world-renowned artists, who has been the most fun to work with?

That is a hard question. I loved working with all of them in some way to be honest.

 Who has so far escaped you collaboration wise and who are you looking to work with in the future

To my knowledge, no one has escaped yet! But then again I never reach out; it’s always my manager, Ash, who handles all of that. My dream collaboration would be Adele.

 The Avicii X You project invited anyone in the world to contribute to a song that you would produce, what was the response like and are you happy with the finished track?

This track was such a unique experience. I wanted my fans to be a part of the process that goes along with making a track and see what we could create together, and we did just that. I received about 13,000 submissions and put some final touches on it in the studio. I think the track turned out to be a great learning experience and success.

You’re playing at Creamfields in August, what’s it like playing a festival compared to a club?

It’s just two different types of vibes. A good club show can be as good as a good

festival but obviously in a different way. Festivals are way bigger, and seeing the reactions of twenty thousand people jumping can yield different results than playing to a club.

Is there anyone you’re looking forward to watching perform at Creamfields this year?

I’m not sure what I can and can’t say right now but I’m always trying to do something really special for such big festivals as Creamfields.

Where would you go for the perfect night out?

I’m not sure, I guess it really depends on where I am but I really like the food over at Berns in Stockholm, Sweden.

What’s on your mixtape?

I listen to a lot of music when I’m working so when I’m off I tend to not listen to anything at all.

One thought on “INTERVIEW: Avicii : Q&A

  1. Hi there,
    I’m with press and syndication IFA-Amsterdam (in The Netherlands) and for a magazine in Austria we’re looking for an interview with Tim Berling.
    We found your Q&A at https://dolcedella.wordpress.com/2013/06/17/say-the-name-tim-bergling-and-more-than/ and wondered if that would be available for reprint.
    Can you let me know if it is and what would be the conditions?
    Looking forward to hearing from you.
    Best wishes,
    Peter Veenhoven
    peter@ifa-amsterdam.com

Leave a Reply

